Megasquirt/FIP/other standalones, harnesses

scott87star

I've been building and running megasquirt systems now for over five years, installing them on my own cars as well as clients cars. I've built this many:

http://picturehosting.com/images/oblique9881/book.jpg

Somewhat of an exaggeration as there are technical references here and there in the folder but these are the build sheets/personal notes on the systems I've built or upgraded. I count close to 50 systems here and it doesn't include the harness work I've also started doing.

So why does anyone need me when you can build one yourself? Well, the short answer is that while any one can buy a kit or even a finished system from many vendors worldwide, most people can't test or troubleshoot what they get or make. If everything was built correctly per the build requirements and everything is connected correctly per the electrical requirements then someone like me isn't needed. Someone like me is called a systems integrator, I've been doing it for years in the analytical chemistry profession and for me these systems are just another example of a embedded chemical process controller. The internal combustion engine is about the neatest and most exhilarating chemical process I've ever come across and it functions best when all the parameters are mapped correctly into the performance envelope, just like an oil refinery or a semiconductor fab. I do offer tuning services, my systems come with a tune that will get you running and by driving and datalogging we can usually get it running much better than the factory system. Dyno tuning is generally required for best power.

http://picturehosting.com/images/oblique9881/latest.jpg

An example of an FIP FC-1S being modified for igniton control, table switching, launch control, electronic boost control, 0-5V fuel pressure sensor logging and a few other tricks.

http://picturehosting.com/images/oblique9881/ms3003.jpg