19c Vs. Big 16G

QUIKQUEST

I was looking on the Turbochargers.com site and saw that the 19c and the big 16g were almost identical in price. Whats the performance difference between the two?

I bought a 88 Conquest with a 19c, turbo and ic hardpipes, downpipe, highflow fuelpump, fuel pressure regulator, with an RFL BOV.

What can I do to Get the max with tbi with this turbo. Can I use the hks pfcon fms and upgrade my injectors to get amore power? I would like to reach 280+hp, what more will i need to add to get there with what ihave so far?

I hear alot about changing the fuel management to take advantage of upgrades. What fuel management is recommended? And relatively not that expensive. Can I get away with the HKS unit, injectors and the 19c??

I really love this car since my buddy had 1 in High School. Finally got a decent one of my own. Greatly appreciate the help.

Ralph

I'm not a turbo expert, but I've run a 17C and have some experience with the 'Super 16G'. I'd say stick with the 19C. It spools faster and stays boosting up in the higher RPM a little better IMHO. The Big 16G will boost to a higher PSI more efficiently. That's the main benefit from it. Much over 18 PSI, and the 16G is better. Below 18, the 19C is much better. There are other factors that may sway the favor over to the 16G, but all around, I like the 'C' series compressor wheel better.

Hey Tim that was very helpful. You answered my question perfectly-Thank you. Can I ask you Tim..@ around 18psi,( to get to that amount of boost ) how can i do that with this turbo? What will I further need to achieve that boost from this 19c? What will I need to change? Or Add for that matter,

Your on top of your game man...

Ralph

Here's some specs:

Super or Big 16G: 550cfm. Efficiency Range:15 to 25 psi.

19C: 600cfm. Efficiency Range:10 to 20 psi.

So the 19c boosts faster, but the Big 16g boosts higher. It all depends on how you plan to run your car.

CALIBER 308

Edited by Caliber308