Jump to content



FuelinjectionPro


  • Please log in to reply
117 replies to this topic

#101 zactek

zactek

    Artistic Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY
  • Model:Starion

Posted 29 March 2011 - 07:17 AM

View Postjwconquest87, on 28 March 2011 - 04:33 PM, said:

I'm new to the quest seen.     Just wondering if u can change out the secondary injector for a primary to get more fuel in boost. I'm running 3 inch turbo back, removed egr, installed wide band and 1st gen maf. Not getting enough fuel its running lean if I put anymore than 6 psi on it. Also seen a aux. Injector set up on raceteps site. Any thoughts or advice please! As soon I get this prob fixed I'm going to put the motor in my super clean quest can't wait to have it done.

What kind of turbo are you running? If it's stock or even a little bigger, a good stock secondary injector should handle 6 psi with no problem with your mods. There's a great stock replacement set of injectors on e-bay for around $170.
A diferent ECU will not give you more fuel on a stock setup, that will depend on your injectors.

Zack K.
Life's too short to be like everyone else.
Savour kindness because cruelty is always possible later.............

Posted Image
Uploaded with ImageShack.us





#102 jwconquest87

jwconquest87

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts

Posted 29 March 2011 - 10:53 AM

I'm running stock turbo, I'm going to get 88 ecu instead of running my stock 87. So u believe I just need to swap injectors. I'm going to change fuel filter today just to do it. I would like to b able to run about 12-14 psi and trying to get this done before PF. Has anyone used or know of anyone that has used the aux injector kit that racetep has?

#103 Edde

Edde

    Still Dead

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,127 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:We are EVERYWHERE
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 29 March 2011 - 04:47 PM

View Postjwconquest87, on 29 March 2011 - 10:53 AM, said:

I'm running stock turbo, I'm going to get 88 ecu instead of running my stock 87. So u believe I just need to swap injectors. I'm going to change fuel filter today just to do it. I would like to b able to run about 12-14 psi and trying to get this done before PF. Has anyone used or know of anyone that has used the aux injector kit that racetep has?

It's been used for sure but it's not a good substitute for doing it right.  Honestly, around here that idea is completely obsolete.  Many an engine has been blown for lack of reliable fuel delivery using extra injectors.

Edited by Edde, 29 March 2011 - 04:48 PM.

Posted Image

#104 zactek

zactek

    Artistic Technician

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,935 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, NY
  • Model:Starion

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:32 AM

View Postjwconquest87, on 29 March 2011 - 10:53 AM, said:

I'm running stock turbo, I'm going to get 88 ecu instead of running my stock 87. So u believe I just need to swap injectors. I'm going to change fuel filter today just to do it. I would like to b able to run about 12-14 psi and trying to get this done before PF. Has anyone used or know of anyone that has used the aux injector kit that racetep has?

I used to run a 14G at 16psi for years on the stock injectors with no problems. An '88 ECU will help, but it won't give you "more" fuel. I personally don't trust the aux. injector setup either. If your injectors are new or have been cleaned/flowed recently, there's no reason they can't support a stock puny turbo even at 18 psi.

Zack K.
Life's too short to be like everyone else.
Savour kindness because cruelty is always possible later.............

Posted Image
Uploaded with ImageShack.us

#105 87questkid

87questkid

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:freeland pa
  • Interests:cars bikes boards girls
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 06 April 2011 - 05:29 PM

hi everyone i got a fc1 about 3 years ago and cant get it to work at all the wire colors are def .i live around hazleton pa if anyone could help me get it running  i would even pay for the help thanks
IF YOU DONT HAVE FUN DOING IT WHY THE HELL DO IT

87 quest

#106 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 29 May 2011 - 12:22 AM

two ways of adding more fuel useing stock injs,, one is a longer duration cam,,the other is to increase fuel pressure ( larger vlume fuel pump )
Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto

#107 Lizzord30

Lizzord30

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,923 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:West Michigan
  • Interests:Think outside the box!!
    The box has stale air.... Yuck
  • Model:Starion

Posted 02 December 2011 - 07:24 PM

View PostShelby, on 29 May 2011 - 12:22 AM, said:

two ways of adding more fuel useing stock injs,, one is a longer duration cam,,the other is to increase fuel pressure ( larger vlume fuel pump )

Interesting never thought that maybe need to get a large cam for a higher hp stock TBI setup if your running lean.
89 TSI: The Blue Car Best time 12.4 15psi 7:1  Now is a part car for my 88.
88 Starion ESI-R Red Auto 60-1 hifi, Hawk ECU, 720cc inj, Magna Intake, from 8:1-9:1 compression.
More info here: http://www.starquestclub.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=130169
96 850 Turbo Volvo 5cyl, 2.3l, 15g Over 230k

#108 Skippy

Skippy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, Missouri
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 06 March 2012 - 01:35 PM

Is it safe to assume being the creator of this has not been active since: Last Active Jan 14 2009 11:36 PM that the MPI kit is no longer available?

#109 dmyers151

dmyers151

    Go-Kart Mozart

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,325 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pine Bush, NY
  • Interests:Toys & Candy
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 30 April 2012 - 12:59 PM

Safer than abstinence.

#110 strang3majik

strang3majik

    Strang3milk Returns

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Englewood, Florida
  • Interests:Life, the universe, and everything.
  • Model:Starion

Posted 30 April 2012 - 01:51 PM

.

Edited by strang3majik, 01 May 2012 - 12:29 AM.


#111 strang3majik

strang3majik

    Strang3milk Returns

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Englewood, Florida
  • Interests:Life, the universe, and everything.
  • Model:Starion

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:01 AM

Would it be beneficial to run this on a TBI setup, or not really?

#112 Skippy

Skippy

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Louis, Missouri
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:10 AM

I'm not sure what you are asking here. Are you asking if a FIP ECU will work with a TBI system of your MPI system?

#113 strang3majik

strang3majik

    Strang3milk Returns

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Englewood, Florida
  • Interests:Life, the universe, and everything.
  • Model:Starion

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:29 AM

View PostSkippy, on 01 May 2012 - 12:10 AM, said:

I'm not sure what you are asking here. Are you asking if a FIP ECU will work with a TBI system of your MPI system?

No...if an FIP setup would be beneficial on a stock TBI setup.  I have a complete setup...just wondering what to do with it...haha.

Edited by strang3majik, 01 May 2012 - 12:31 AM.


#114 Komeuppance

Komeuppance

    Amused.

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,590 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hills, OR
  • Interests:Starions, and Starion accessories
  • Model:Starion

Posted 01 May 2012 - 01:58 AM

Yes, standalone fuel management is great.  It's very easy to install, and you'll be tuning in no time.

-Robert

Posted Image


#115 Ethan

Ethan

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bonifay, Florida
  • Interests:My main interest is learning more about my car right now. So if you can let me know what you guys know. Share your knowlage with me.
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 14 May 2012 - 07:28 PM

What all components do I need to run a MPI set up?

#116 golden87

golden87

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:colorado
  • Interests:BURL&BOOSTIN
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 07 July 2013 - 10:42 AM

I just aquired a Magna intake that is all modded and ready togo! My question is that im running FIP FC-1S on my TBI setup what would it take to use the fuel ecu on the Magna intake? I know im missing 2 more injector plugs. Thanks for your input!

#117 scott87star

scott87star

    Technically Challenged, Daily.

  • Vendors
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,020 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mandan, NORTH DAKOTA
  • Interests:Freezing, thawing, thunderstorms and constant wind.
  • Model:Starion

Posted 07 July 2013 - 12:13 PM

Spice in two more injector plugs, one each in parallel with the others.  For low-z injectors (less than 10 ohms) you'll want to run injector resistors, 10 ohms each with at least a 10W rating, preferably 25W, one resistor per injector and you can install them on either the power wire to the injector or in the negative wire to the ECU.  The factory 2 resistor pack are 10 ohms each but I would recommend getting four matching ones.  Radio Shack still carries that kind of stuff.

Then its just settings in the controller and tuning.  If you haven't yet gotten a reflash to the latest processor firmware I'd advise doing that as it adds many nice features like ASE, warmup enrichment, 12X12 VE tables, etc....
Now selling true plug and play megasquirt!  Absolutely the best value in stand alone ECU's out there.

I can upgrade your Fuel Injection Pro firmware

Performance Coatings!  Pistons, manifolds, bearings and more!

Now a graduate of EFI University!  www.efi101.com

ECU Vendor link:  http://www.starquest...howtopic=137426

#118 golden87

golden87

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:colorado
  • Interests:BURL&BOOSTIN
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 07 July 2013 - 07:07 PM

Just the man I hoped would answer! I should also be able to retain my stock ignition setup also correct..I'm also sending you a pm!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users