New to the 88' Starion

Starheel

First off I am new to the Starion and pretty much new to any work beyond basic maintenance. I recently purchased a 1988 Starion because I like the look and uniqueness. I could also purchase the car and get it running fast cheaper than other cars I had in mind.

So i purchased a car with 88K on the odometer and was already rebuilt about 10K ago. It has been sitting a while but runs OK. It already has coil overs, and manual boost controller, and stereo. It idles rough and does not idle high then come back down as it gets warm, it just starts low and wants to stall out. I just give it some gas for about a minute and then it is fine but still idles rough.

I see others that will spin the wheels or want to at least, in one there is no way that is happening. From a stop it is very slow, like my jetta or SUV, but when it gets to about 2500 RPM the turbo kicks in and it runs pretty good or at least better and fast than lower RPMs. And i guess this is fuel cut but it seems to shudder or mis fire at about 4500 to 5000 RPM. Unfortunatly the car is also automatic and the shifts are pretty hard and doesn't want to down shift when passing. I have to put it to the floor to down shift or to accelerate as fast as my Jetta. (until the turbo kicks in)

I have changed the oil and diff oil already and notice the tranny has a leak. I plan on changing the tranny fluid and tranny filter, the fuel filter, and test compression. I guess i need to test the ISC and TPS as well and have a ECI checker but not the extra harness the manual talks about. I see that there are ways to check them without the ECI checker, but i would like to do it my the manual. I also think there could be something wrong with the injectors but they are semi recent python injectors.