Degreed My Cam

psu_Crash

So i finally got around to degreeing my cam and it wasn't too bad at all. Did it using the centerline method. Degreed it to 112 center as it showed on the cam card from Schneider.

Ok so I also just installed the crank pulley with trigger wheel from 101propose.

My only real concern is that when I found TDC using a positive stop (caliper pin) the actual TDC shows about 4 degrees BTDC from where the timing mark on the pulley lines up with the engine timing marks. Is this normal?? I thought it should be pretty much dead on with that mark. I double checked and that is where my TDC is. Guess i should make a new mark on the pulley??

Also my centerline was 25 degrees advanced, on the crank, before I touched anything. That could be from installing the cam gear from Pagemo too. After all it is adjustable. ;)

Just looking for a little insight.

EDIT: Look what I found Starquest Cam Degreeing

Edited by psu_Crash

25 is really far off seems to me but I'm no expert that's for sure.

As far as TDC goes that is why you go through this in the first place, to find true TDC. Mine was within a half degree. Don't know what others have found at all.

I take it you used the resulting TDC as your zero point right?

So i finally got around to degreeing my cam and it wasn't too bad at all. Did it using the centerline method. Degreed it to 112 center as it showed on the cam card from Schneider.

Ok so I also just installed the crank pulley with trigger wheel from 101propose.

My only real concern is that when I found TDC using a positive stop (caliper pin) the actual TDC shows about 4 degrees BTDC from where the timing mark on the pulley lines up with the engine timing marks. Is this normal?? I thought it should be pretty much dead on with that mark. I double checked and that is where my TDC is. Guess i should make a new mark on the pulley??