Jump to content



DIY Knock headphones for standalone tuning


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#21 ucw458

ucw458

    This will mean the extinction of all life forms on this planet.

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,645 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 05 February 2012 - 07:22 PM

I have but even with the amp it was really faint.  The highest voltage I got from the nissan sensor was 1.2v.  The nominal range was 700-900 miliamps.  The range I got from the stock sensor was 40-80 miliamps with 80 being the highest voltage.  The stock sensor just doesn't put out much voltage.  The Stock ECU has an internal amp for raising the knock sensor voltage.
My 87
Posted Image





#22 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 05 February 2012 - 10:26 PM

seting up a 2 transister amp  circirt should give you all the voltage you'd ever need to hear the signal
Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto

#23 psu_Crash

psu_Crash

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,231 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lawrenceville PA
  • Interests:400+ WHP 450+ WTQ!!... and curves with green eyes
  • Model:Starion

Posted 05 February 2012 - 10:53 PM

View Postucw458, on 05 February 2012 - 07:22 PM, said:

I have but even with the amp it was really faint.  The highest voltage I got from the nissan sensor was 1.2v.  The nominal range was 700-900 miliamps.  The range I got from the stock sensor was 40-80 miliamps with 80 being the highest voltage.  The stock sensor just doesn't put out much voltage.  The Stock ECU has an internal amp for raising the knock sensor voltage.

View PostShelby, on 05 February 2012 - 10:26 PM, said:

seting up a 2 transister amp  circirt should give you all the voltage you'd ever need to hear the signal

I agree with Shelby. If you set up 2 inverting op amps to amplify the signal you'll be fine with the stock sensor. Most ICs are two circuits anyways. Use 2 audio trim pots to dial it in. One for gain and one for volume. No reason it shouldn't work the same as your Nissan sensor. I may get around to trying this out in the near future. Knock detection is crucial and I currently fail at it. Glad you kept this going UCW
'86 Starion, MPI with MS2extra, Ebay To4E 57 Trim (in testing), P&P head, OS SS Valves, Wiseco +.030, ARP head/rod, RPW Roller Cam, Crower Rods,AEM H2O/Meth Injection, Mighty Max CAS 4 Direct Fire Wasted Spark, BSE, Tial 38mm, JDL exhaust mani, HKS turbo timer and EVC3, AEM UEGO, 3" DP into 2 1/2" Dual Exhaust, 85# Delphi's, Magna modded by Chad, Accufab FPR, Walbro 255, D2 Coilovers, GNT Poly Bushings and mounts, Autopower 4 point cage, Funk-Lock, LED Tails and Dome ... etc^4
2016-17 SCCA Solo Glen Region Champion in Street Modified. Going for a 3-peat this year ;)
The Valencia Project
http://www.starquest...+golden +dreams
My Feedback Link
Posted Image

#24 ucw458

ucw458

    This will mean the extinction of all life forms on this planet.

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,645 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 05 February 2012 - 11:27 PM

I tried that.  The chip I used is 4 op amps.  I ran the output from one into the input of the other and the chip didn't like it.  The output got cut in half.  You would need to use a different chip to get more output
My 87
Posted Image

#25 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 06 February 2012 - 08:53 PM

man it's been a long time but  do you mean transister and not 'chip'
you do not use two of the same voltage  transisters ,you need to match the 2'd transister to the out put voltage your expecting so the input will be within it's range , any way some thing like that it's been 30 yrs sence i play'd with circirts
Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto

#26 ucw458

ucw458

    This will mean the extinction of all life forms on this planet.

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,645 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 06 February 2012 - 09:22 PM

View PostShelby, on 06 February 2012 - 08:53 PM, said:

man it's been a long time but  do you mean transister and not 'chip'
you do not use two of the same voltage  transisters ,you need to match the 2'd transister to the out put voltage your expecting so the input will be within it's range , any way some thing like that it's been 30 yrs sence i play'd with circirts


I'm using a LM324 op amp chip from radio shack.

http://www.radioshac...oductId=2062592
My 87
Posted Image

#27 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 50,164 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 06 February 2012 - 09:47 PM

http://www.radioshac...ductId=12651127
http://www.radioshac...ductId=12651132




why not these
Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto

#28 ucw458

ucw458

    This will mean the extinction of all life forms on this planet.

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,645 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 06 February 2012 - 10:04 PM

Because the LM324 is easier and 4 amps in one chip.  So I could do stereo input if I desired and just add a second knock sensor for other motor types like a boxer engine.
My 87
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users