need help

carchick

so i am new to the whole conquest thing... i was traded an 87 tsi with minor issues im not exactly sure what is going on... when i put my foot on the gas it seems that the car doesnt want to push anything. if you lightly touch the gas it will go but slowly... it wont push any boosted and im about half tempted to just sell it if you have any ideas that might help please let me know thank you

so i am new to the whole conquest thing... i was traded an 87 tsi with minor issues im not exactly sure what is going on... when i put my foot on the gas it seems that the car doesnt want to push anything. if you lightly touch the gas it will go but slowly... it wont push any boosted and im about half tempted to just sell it if you have any ideas that might help please let me know thank you

Well, welcome to the family. These cars are great cars but you have to have patience. It could be a few things. IT could be bad injectors, injector clips, clog downpipe and or cat. I would start with the injectors. Don't sell

there are a few members in your area that will lend a hand..Welcome aboard

Welcome aboard.

Don't sell, I think you'll find these cars are awesome. Handles better than any other car I've had the privelige of driving.

There are quite a few things that could be wrong, but not enough info to help pinpoint your issue.

With that in mind, I'll go down the list from the most common.

By far, the most common drivability problems are ignition related. Check the ignition system. I'd look first at the vac advance to make sure it works properly...yes, it's part of the ignition system. Got good plugs? Gapped correctly? Coil, ignitor box cases well grounded? Coil up to snuff?