Jump to content



350 z for 2j swap good idea or bad?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OBSESSIVE_ENT.

OBSESSIVE_ENT.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:5. WHO???
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 21 February 2013 - 06:15 PM

Sup everybody

Ive been doing this 2jz swap for like forever and the sticking point now is gettin an afordable r154. then it it me, how bout a 350z tranny. they are a little cheaper and come in 6spd. my question is I believe the spline count is 24 and the 2j is 21. could input shafts be swapped? also anyone knows if the 6sp can handel as much as the 5spd r154?

thanks.





#2 jeph_tsi

jeph_tsi

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:cincinnati, ohio
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 12:13 AM

that is a very strong transmission as long as you don't get the first couple years it was in production, there is no way the input shaft would swap as one is nissan, other is toyota and are different generations.  you will need a custom flywheel, clutch, and bellhousing.  the kit is out there for around 1800 (minus transmission).  The problem is the length of this transmission, it can be shortened a little but iirc even at its shortest its still around 4" too long.  the nissan transmission is stronger than the r154.  What I'm curious about is how strong would the r154 be if you had it cryo'd... if you can do the tear down and rebuild yourself cryogenic treatment is 3-5$ per pound.  I need to tear down my r154 because of problems with 5th gear shift fork and will likely to the marlin crawler upgrade and get all the forks/gears/shafts cryo'd.
'88 conquest, 1jz/r154
Posted Image

#3 OBSESSIVE_ENT.

OBSESSIVE_ENT.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:5. WHO???
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:18 AM

i figured the length would be an issue. on one forum a guy makes a 1j adapter plate for 390 he said hes working on a clutch kit.

#4 GINASQ

GINASQ

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 02:16 PM

If you get the 6 speed make sure it has #CD009 stamped on it, those are the revised transmission that have the updated synchros etc. They came in the 05-06 G35/350z but a lot of people got them from Nissan through warrenty. Also, the trans from the VQ35/37HR engines have a concentric slave cyl its like inside the trans or whatever.
-James

#5 TexasQuest

TexasQuest

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Texas
  • Interests:TSi's & VR4's
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:55 PM

Yes they are internal slave cylinder transmissions.
88 Fiji Blue -TSi
Zoom clutch, Fidanza flywheel, Stedebani shifter, KSport coilovers, ST swaybars, abs delete, a/c delete, cruise delete, JVE, BSEK, TEP steel brake lines, LSP braided cooler lines, CX Racing radiator,  MK1 silicone hoses, MK1 pullies, *DM hard pipes & intercooler,14G turbo, ported exh. manifold, MAF Translator, 3.5" GM maf, Turbo XS RFL bov, *DM 3" exhaust, Cusco front strut bar, TEP rear strut bar, Enkei 92's, HKS turbo timer, AEM wideband, AEM boost gauge, AEM oil pressure gauge, SPA fuel regulator, Hallman boost controller
Posted Image

View PostJohnnyWadd, on 04 March 2010 - 10:01 PM, said:

my shaft was big i dont know what your talking about.

<SOS> http://sosmanuals.minagera.org/
<SQ Garage> http://www.starquestgarage.com/

#6 OBSESSIVE_ENT.

OBSESSIVE_ENT.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:5. WHO???
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:03 PM

oh oh what does that mean Texas pardon my ignorance. my thing is i dont want to get the set up and then have to shift from the back seat. Gina i was aiming for the 07s.

#7 TexasQuest

TexasQuest

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9,021 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunnyvale, Texas
  • Interests:TSi's & VR4's
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:57 PM

Instead of the slave cylinder being bolted to the outside of the transmission it is adapted to the center shaft of the transmission. Not sure how you would adapt it to the Sq's factory clutch line.
88 Fiji Blue -TSi
Zoom clutch, Fidanza flywheel, Stedebani shifter, KSport coilovers, ST swaybars, abs delete, a/c delete, cruise delete, JVE, BSEK, TEP steel brake lines, LSP braided cooler lines, CX Racing radiator,  MK1 silicone hoses, MK1 pullies, *DM hard pipes & intercooler,14G turbo, ported exh. manifold, MAF Translator, 3.5" GM maf, Turbo XS RFL bov, *DM 3" exhaust, Cusco front strut bar, TEP rear strut bar, Enkei 92's, HKS turbo timer, AEM wideband, AEM boost gauge, AEM oil pressure gauge, SPA fuel regulator, Hallman boost controller
Posted Image

View PostJohnnyWadd, on 04 March 2010 - 10:01 PM, said:

my shaft was big i dont know what your talking about.

<SOS> http://sosmanuals.minagera.org/
<SQ Garage> http://www.starquestgarage.com/

#8 GINASQ

GINASQ

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 23 February 2013 - 08:31 AM

View PostOBSESSIVE_ENT., on 22 February 2013 - 10:03 PM, said:

oh oh what does that mean Texas pardon my ignorance. my thing is i dont want to get the set up and then have to shift from the back seat. Gina i was aiming for the 07s.

The 07' are the internal slave HR trans so like TexasQuest said the slave is inside. There are kits to use them with cars that have swaps and Brett Collins makes a kit that lets you use those transmissions but thats adding like $300 it'll be cheaper just to use the cd00# trans from the vq35de. Make sure if you do use an HR trans that it doesnt have 2nd gear issues.

Edited by GINASQ, 23 February 2013 - 08:38 AM.

-James

#9 OBSESSIVE_ENT.

OBSESSIVE_ENT.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:5. WHO???
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:19 PM

great info, but back to the length issue again lol. the only guy i saw making an adapter was from an 09 post that is  no longer active. I guess if this is too much of a bother I will stick with the r154 or by some insanity get the v60

#10 GINASQ

GINASQ

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 942 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 28 February 2013 - 08:49 AM

It's 31x10x11 without that tail shaft thingy, add 9" to the length with it, but you'll have to shorten it to get it in the conquest I believe. I want to know how well it'll fit our transmission tunnel for the 5-speed starquest.
Try this guy I'm pretty sure he makes a kit, he makes the 1uz to z33 kit http://collinsadapters.com/
-James

#11 OBSESSIVE_ENT.

OBSESSIVE_ENT.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:5. WHO???
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 13 March 2013 - 10:19 AM

thanks

#12 importwarrior

importwarrior

    6 Quests and Counting......

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manassas VA
  • Interests:Boost = 2KWIK4U
    Starquests
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 14 March 2013 - 05:59 AM

http://collinsadapte...6-steel-55.html

B-71 87 TSI ~ RIP

Black 87 Starion ~ Mess SOLD!!!

Proud New 89 slightly Rusted Fiji Owner !!!




#13 OBSESSIVE_ENT.

OBSESSIVE_ENT.

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:BROOKLYN
  • Interests:5. WHO???
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 April 2013 - 07:29 PM

importwarrior that is excelllent!! you give me new hope for this six according to the pics its 3 feet long. the belly looks really fat and still have to deal with the internal thing but those trannies are going for almost half of what the r154 are. thanks for the link im looking itno it again.

#14 Keben

Keben

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, AB
  • Model:Starion

Posted 17 April 2014 - 10:55 PM

Just to let you guys know, there's been talk about putting a tremec shifter and socket where the inspection cover is on the 350z transmission with a bit of modification. Apparently, it lines up perfectly on a mk3 supra and moves the shifter exactly where the shifter hole in on the tunnel, which means good news for us! Here the link to the thread. Not much technical info, but thought I'd share with ya'll. http://m.clublexus.c...=630367&page=23

#15 clow340

clow340

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wayland, mi
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 21 April 2014 - 09:59 PM

Why dont you get a 2wd ax15 out of a jeep, swap the r154 bellhousing in and use a ford or jeep clutch disk? There the exact same trans with different input shafts

#16 3sdsmer

3sdsmer

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:jackson michigan

Posted 24 July 2014 - 04:50 PM

some people up the black cover and use this  http://www.courtesyp...14_115_492.html
http://www.clublexus...adapter-28.html




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users