Jump to content



how to set up a dual boot,, win Xp and win7 & seperate hard drvs


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 08 November 2011 - 01:34 AM

just how hard it this t do

Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto






#2 RobH

RobH

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Panama City Fl
  • Interests:cars
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 08 November 2011 - 06:29 AM

it is not hard at all shelby

ill have to put on my thinking cap again to remember
but if you would like i can try and walk you threw this
89 fiji 2jzgte/R154


Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

My Build Thread
Paint http://www.starquest...howtopic=131275
engine swap http://www.starquest...howtopic=127175

#3 Goddard

Goddard

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Interests:art, cars, snowboarding...
  • Model:Other

Posted 08 November 2011 - 08:07 AM

I want to do the exact same thing.  My new computer came loaded with Wins 7.  I picked up a nasty virus weeks ago and have my system back up and running (in a limited fashion though).  I need to completely reload the OS with some backup discs.  I do however have a lot of expensive XP software on my laptop that would be nice to run on this new desktop computer.  Unfortunately since the software is older it's not working with Wins 7 (keeps crashing).  I was thinking to just buy a XP disc from eBay and forget about 7 all together but maybe a dual boot would be the best of both worlds.  I'm not a huge fan of 7 but I think it's just because I haven't dove into it very deep.  Any help or suggestions would be awesome!
Posted Image

#4 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 08 November 2011 - 09:04 AM

View PostGoddard, on 08 November 2011 - 08:07 AM, said:

I want to do the exact same thing.  My new computer came loaded with Wins 7.  I picked up a nasty virus weeks ago and have my system back up and running (in a limited fashion though).  I need to completely reload the OS with some backup discs.  I do however have a lot of expensive XP software on my laptop that would be nice to run on this new desktop computer.  Unfortunately since the software is older it's not working with Wins 7 (keeps crashing).  I was thinking to just buy a XP disc from eBay and forget about 7 all together but maybe a dual boot would be the best of both worlds.  I'm not a huge fan of 7 but I think it's just because I haven't dove into it very deep.  Any help or suggestions would be awesome!


a little advice about  buying an XP disk,, make sure it  includes SP2 or SP3 in it already or the pc will not even boot up

and if you have win7 professional or ultimate  , it has a built in XP mode you have to  down load from microsoft

Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto


#5 Goddard

Goddard

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Columbus, OH
  • Interests:art, cars, snowboarding...
  • Model:Other

Posted 08 November 2011 - 10:18 AM

Thanks Shelby, I'll look into that.  I think it's probably just 7 Home Edition.
Posted Image

#6 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 09 November 2011 - 02:58 PM

View PostRobH, on 08 November 2011 - 06:29 AM, said:

it is not hard at all shelby

ill have to put on my thinking cap again to remember
but if you would like i can try and walk you threw this


well start walking but keep it slow ;)

Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto


#7 DryBear

DryBear

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Model:Starion

Posted 09 November 2011 - 05:14 PM

If you are having problems running older software on Windows 7, right click on the application, then select "Properties."

In the window that pops-up, select the "Compatibility" tab. Select the box for "Run this program in compatibility mode," and pick Windows XP service pack 3. Try running it again, and if you still have issues, step the mode down to Windows 2000.

If the program access the disk drive a lot to write files, you may need to use the "run as administrator" option as well.

#8 Shelby

Shelby

    Rookie

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,572 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ocala, Florida
  • Model:Other

Posted 09 November 2011 - 07:50 PM

XP compatiability mode is an add'd down load for win7  it's not include'd

Shelby trance's StarQuest i-x.net
86MightyMax89Tsi, MPi , 20g ;) (sold:( )
88TSI Silver
89TSI red auto


#9 DryBear

DryBear

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Model:Starion

Posted 10 November 2011 - 01:53 PM

View PostShelby, on 09 November 2011 - 07:50 PM, said:

XP compatiability mode is an add'd down load for win7  it's not include'd

You are thinking about the virtual XP machine that runs within windows 7 - yes that is a seperate download called "Windows XP Mode" - compatibility mode is built right into Windows 7.

#10 strang3majik

strang3majik

    Hi

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,796 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Englewood, Florida
  • Interests:Life, the universe, and everything.
  • Model:Other

Posted 10 November 2011 - 01:58 PM

You have to install XP first, and in the install blue screen, setup two partitions on the hard drive.  Install XP to one of those.  

Then, once the XP install is done, install Windows 7 to the other partition.  Its pretty simple really.  I have my desktop computer like that.

When you boot it up, you have to make the selection of Earlier Version of Windows, or Windows 7.

#11 newquest86

newquest86

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:new jersey
  • Interests:restoring and modifying cars
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 14 November 2011 - 07:44 PM

DITTO!!
86 plymouth conquest njv clearwater head  ARP STUDS schneider springs 3 angle valve job  16g  trilogy injectors bse kit mk1 struts mk1 2.5 exhaust fuel cut mod evc 3 boost controller AEM UEGO WIDEBAND mk1 gauge kit 83 fiberglass hood hard pipes bov lightened flywheel cs 130 gm alt. KN filter drilled and slotted brake rotors jolyrgr braided oil lines

#12 Skullzaflare

Skullzaflare

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,833 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bunker Hill, wv
  • Interests:Computers, hotrods, ratrods
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 23 November 2011 - 12:49 AM

View Poststrang3majik, on 10 November 2011 - 01:58 PM, said:

You have to install XP first, and in the install blue screen, setup two partitions on the hard drive.  Install XP to one of those.  

Then, once the XP install is done, install Windows 7 to the other partition.  Its pretty simple really.  I have my desktop computer like that.

When you boot it up, you have to make the selection of Earlier Version of Windows, or Windows 7.
close
if you have your XP key, figure out if its OEM or normal, you can download unmodified torrents ISO files, for an updated version
first, as above, you will install XP on the drive you want, i recommend formatting both, so when you bring up Win7 its easier to notice
after installing, reboot, run Win7 disc, tell it you are not upgrading, delete the partition on the 2nd drive, and tell it to install

it will automatically setup the dual boot screen, it will default load windows 7 if you dont interrupt it, but you can change that
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users