Jump to content



My 2JZ Swap


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 23 May 2015 - 01:10 PM

I've started my VVTi 2JZ swap. Have a few question for some that have done it. First, the vacuum pump on the left side of the engine compartment (if looking directly in) needed? Many pics I've seen does not have it there, but yet seems the lines are needed for the brakes. Pic added for help.
Posted Image






#2 CarlosFley

CarlosFley

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vallejo, CA
  • Interests:-Class Culture-
    Sinatra, Wu-Tang, Keys N Krates
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 23 May 2015 - 02:01 PM

I'm not sure what "vacuum pump" you're referring to but because you say there's brake lines going to it I'm guessing you're referring to the ABS module which you can delete and reroute those brake lines to have no ABS. Your call though.
'87 Chrysler Conquest TSI NON-SHP "Diamond"-Walbro 255, rebuilt TB, OVC hardpipe with HKS SSQV, GM 3" MAF, 1G DSM MAF Translator, 88-89 knock box, black silicone vacuum lines, ABS & Cruise Control delete, 3" HKS Super Power Flow, wire tucked... kinda :/, NRG adjustable shift knob, MSD Blaster 2, tucking tire in the rear and zero wheel gap in fronts on D2's, aaaaaaaannddddd stickaaaaaassssss for that booooooooost!

Interested in: CF 83 style hood, CF air daayyuum. Ohh and turbo-to-intercooler hardpipe.

#3 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 23 May 2015 - 02:04 PM

Cool. That's all I needed to know. Buddy doing the swap was unsure and called to say vacuum. I'm heading over now to help and will post more pics and questions. Appreciate it greatly!

#4 CarlosFley

CarlosFley

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vallejo, CA
  • Interests:-Class Culture-
    Sinatra, Wu-Tang, Keys N Krates
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 23 May 2015 - 02:51 PM

No prob playa
'87 Chrysler Conquest TSI NON-SHP "Diamond"-Walbro 255, rebuilt TB, OVC hardpipe with HKS SSQV, GM 3" MAF, 1G DSM MAF Translator, 88-89 knock box, black silicone vacuum lines, ABS & Cruise Control delete, 3" HKS Super Power Flow, wire tucked... kinda :/, NRG adjustable shift knob, MSD Blaster 2, tucking tire in the rear and zero wheel gap in fronts on D2's, aaaaaaaannddddd stickaaaaaassssss for that booooooooost!

Interested in: CF 83 style hood, CF air daayyuum. Ohh and turbo-to-intercooler hardpipe.

#5 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 23 May 2015 - 03:42 PM

Alright, so back to the swap. Motor has 101k KM. for now it will remain on stock electronics and turbos. Once everything is working properly, a single with ProEFI will find its way onto it. This was my winter project that wasn't exactly started until a month ago. Car itself is a 88 Fiji Blue with 89k original miles. (Motor is available with transmission and a Southbend). It will be going through a restoration once completed. Overall goa is 600whp and the ability to keep up around these parts of St. Louis. Most have H/C F-bodies.

#6 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 23 May 2015 - 05:55 PM

Mounts aren't lining up very well. About 2 inches off on the passenger side and 1.5" off on the driver side. Stock turbos are against the firewall and still that far off. Good news is, it's been test fitted.
Posted Image

#7 autotr8er2

autotr8er2

    Out of my Cotton Pickin' Mind

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 993 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Oklahoma
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 24 May 2015 - 08:49 AM

Keep it going. Love to see it finished.  Fiji's are poorly represented in swaps.  The distance you are talking about, do you mean the frame rails?
Does anybody offer Lay-away anymore?

#8 clueless

clueless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 06 June 2015 - 01:15 AM

are you fabricating your own mounts? thinking about getting a 2jz gte vvti myself. will definitely follow your swap progress now ^_^

#9 twojayzeestarion

twojayzeestarion

    obsessive starion collector

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:423 Tennessee
  • Model:Starion

Posted 07 June 2015 - 12:35 AM

You need to talk to Matthew ayres he makes mounts that work perfect for 200 shipped, his name here is vettekiller,
Posted Image
1.87 black conquest: committed suicide
2.87 silver starion: sold
3.86 red starion: stolen by scrappers
4.88 red starion: sold
5.87 black starion: given to friend
6.87 black starion: sold
8.83 silver starion: currently own
9.89 white starion shp: 2jz swap daily
10.87 black starion: given to brother for Christmas as first car
11.88 black conquest: parting out need parts?
12.89 red conquest: currently own
13.89 Orange conquest shp: 2jz single turbo daily driver
14.88 fiji blue conquest: currently own
15.89 silver conquest: currently own
16,88 Palemero grey starion (ulrichwolfs chariot): currently own
17.89 silver conquest : currently own
18.89 white conquest: currently own

#10 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 28 January 2016 - 06:12 PM

So, haven't worked on the car in a while. Life took over. Purchased the mounts from vettekiller, and trying to see which goes where. The longer plated mount goes on passanger side? Also, changed engine management to AEM. Got a good deal on it!

Edited by MrSplat, 28 January 2016 - 06:16 PM.


#11 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 28 January 2016 - 08:04 PM

Posted Image

#12 MrSplat

MrSplat

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Saint Louis

Posted 28 January 2016 - 08:05 PM

So the motor is in, now onto the wiring, putting the trans in, and all of the hoses/vacuum lines.

#13 IntercooledFlatty

IntercooledFlatty

    Get Sum

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Schwetty BallZ Louisiana
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 29 January 2016 - 03:49 PM

get sum
Posted Image
          MOPAR POWERED

#14 Zoggy87

Zoggy87

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 387 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 10 January 2018 - 10:47 AM

Any update?

#15 clueless

clueless

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 26 June 2018 - 02:29 PM

I had the same question.. longer plate is on intake side.

#16 Fuze

Fuze

    AKA @Battlemagnet

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jerzey
  • Interests:Chess Boxing
  • Model:Starion

Posted 29 June 2018 - 08:47 AM

Awesome. That is a stout motor, I have friends that all swap them into S13's, S14's, and BMW's.

You can lose a ton of the stuff in the engine bay, I got rid of everything except the body harness, unwrapped and pulled out the oil pressure wire, coil tach signal wire and coolant temp sensor wires from the engine harness and stuffed the rest under the battery tray area. Drilled out the spot welds and pulled the brackets off the passenger side area and routed the fuel lines up behind the brake booster. (swap is a 1UZ, header is close the the framerail there.) I also pulled the PS hard lines off the firewall and used braided ones, In process of painting the bay now. You can definitely waste a lot of time cleaning up the bay lol.

Insta = @battlemagnet

Posted Image





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users