What to look for on a new non running car?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 NotGreg

NotGreg

• Newbies
  • PipPipPip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 July 2021 - 08:32 AM

Hello everyone!

I have zero experience with starquests, but I'm planning on looking at one this weekend. It's an 87 that does not run, the existing engine is in pieces and it comes with another that is supposed to be good. The good news is that it appears to have a good body and a really good interior. Does anyone have advice regarding common issues I can look for on a non-running car? I'm in the north so rust is one of my largest concerns, but I'll take any advice I can get.

Edited by NotGreg, 15 July 2021 - 09:03 PM.

#2 BlueCuda

BlueCuda

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 15 July 2021 - 09:08 AM

Check the cylinder head for cracks if it is removed.  They will be between the valves if they are there, might have to clean a little carbon off in that area.  

Look for hack job repairs in wiring etc.  I bought an 87 with a blown head gasket, head gasket was blown but the head was also cracked.  Because of that the engine was locked up.  I did get it free but the cylinders are pretty rough.  It also looks like a honey badger removed the radio.  I went into it assuming I would find that stuff.  Once I get it running then the list will get longer I am sure.

You might take a good battery with you and power it up to check for surprises.
87 Conquest M5 project

#3 techboy

techboy

Established Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,902 posts
  • Interests:80's & 90's turbo charged cars.
  • Model:Starion

Posted 15 July 2021 - 09:45 AM