51 replies to this topic

#1 kev

kev

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,314 posts
  • Model:Other

Posted 02 December 2020 - 03:04 PM

Well I just brought back another conquest.  I'm not good at picking fancy names for these things so I just call this one conquest #7, haha.   This is an 88 tsi, black, non-shp, non-sunroof, automatic.   This car is pretty much identical to my last daily driven cq, conquest #6.  

I got this one from a very close friend who needed to clear out his garage for another toy.   It has 98k original and has been sitting in garages since 1997.  The owner before my friend pulled the engine a part to fix what he thought was a head gasket but of course was a cracked head.  There was a good used head from a 50k car in the trunk.  Also, it has all of the parts needed to put it back together.  

I have two teenage boys, so this one will be a father/son project and they will most likely be the ones driving it in the future.   As of right now, my younger son is taking the most interest in it.  

Posted Image

All in all, it is what I consider rust free...but that is from a PA guy.  There is no rust on the frame rails, rockers, or anything on the undercarriage.  It started to rust on the rear quarters behind the wheels.  A previous owner ground it out and started to patch it with putty (as seen in the photos).  There is one small hole in the drivers front quarter.  Right where the oem braze line is.  The PO ground out the rust.  That is it.  Even the front bumper support is solid (some minor rust but it is all there!)  

Posted Image

Posted Image