Jump to content



FuelinjectionPro


  • Please log in to reply
117 replies to this topic

#1 FuelinjectionPro

FuelinjectionPro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • Interests:CARS!

Posted 16 September 2008 - 12:03 AM

Please post questions you may have about installing your kit here.
Ed
FIP
Fuel=Power  http://WWW.FuelinjectionPro.com
Works best under pressure!
New Distributorless Ignition System http://www.angelfire.com/mech/edwardcase00/edsion.html





#2 Funky Phil

Funky Phil

    Super Pooper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,421 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell's microwave TX
  • Interests:2 streaks of fire for 60ft when I leave.
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 16 September 2008 - 12:13 AM

QUOTE (FuelinjectionPro @ Sep 16 2008, 12:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Please post questions you may have about installing your kit here.
Ed
FIP


HEY ED!! Long time no talky! Heres an issue Ive been having.
http://www.starquestclub.com/forum/index.p...amp;hl=ignition
10.95@122mph MoFuggin stickshift! https://m.youtube.co...h?v=8Q01UKt5q4U

Posted Image

#3 DSM RSM 89conquest

DSM RSM 89conquest

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:newhall ca
  • Interests:Formula 1,WRC,rebuilding my p.o.s

Posted 16 September 2008 - 03:27 AM

ED! I almost gave up on you! I bought the hurricaine 4 and I cant get it to run. The light on my FC1S is not flashing durring cranking. I turn the car on and it flashes once but thats it. The megasquirt software shows the injectors are not pulsing/cycling. The car fired up the first couple times, the map sensor, tps and tach all seem to work fine. Please help me out, i need to make my car run!

#4 lester

lester

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 16 September 2008 - 03:52 AM

Hi Ed

I am planning for MPI conversion soon with MS. I am reading up all I can on the msefi as well as all Starion MPI related information. Will you reckon the stock harness or at least some parts of it will work with the MS V3.57 SMD board? I am using a 89 Starion engine with a small 16G on a Pajero. Will I be able to get it to work with stock distributor? I have got the following with me now:

Magna intake done by Chad with 1/2" spacer at intake flange
4 x 75LB Delphi injectors
Magna fuel rail
Mustang thottle body with 1/2" spacer and TPS
MS V3.57 SMD board
Simulator board
DB37 connector with long harness, computer cable
Fuel regulator
Very messed up wiring harness with fuses, connectors and relays.

I guess with the above set up I cannot control the ignition part, or can I? I am trying to understand everything fully before I start working on it. Cos it's a daily driver and can't afford too much down time. Thanks.

#5 substock

substock

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pa
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 16 September 2008 - 06:12 AM

hi Ed,

didn't want to fill your other post with this,

i know you stated that you had stop production of the kits, but will you and Scott be offering kits again?

nice to see you back
'89 Conquest

#6 Funky Phil

Funky Phil

    Super Pooper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,421 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell's microwave TX
  • Interests:2 streaks of fire for 60ft when I leave.
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 16 September 2008 - 01:00 PM

QUOTE (DSM RSM 89conquest @ Sep 16 2008, 03:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ED! I almost gave up on you! I bought the hurricaine 4 and I cant get it to run. The light on my FC1S is not flashing durring cranking. I turn the car on and it flashes once but thats it. The megasquirt software shows the injectors are not pulsing/cycling. The car fired up the first couple times, the map sensor, tps and tach all seem to work fine. Please help me out, i need to make my car run!



what are you using for a tach signal? The FC needs either the msd tach adapter or the one offered by FIP. Just hooking up to the stock crap doesnt work.
10.95@122mph MoFuggin stickshift! https://m.youtube.co...h?v=8Q01UKt5q4U

Posted Image

#7 BaltTSI

BaltTSI

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,086 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland
  • Interests:Starquests forever!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 16 September 2008 - 05:38 PM

I would like to know how the pink wire off the Fuel Control box works on the TBPro2r , I hear it can control the fans, where do I setup the switch point in the software to enable it?
Former Conquest owner, 2001 to April 2009


#8 DSM RSM 89conquest

DSM RSM 89conquest

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:newhall ca
  • Interests:Formula 1,WRC,rebuilding my p.o.s

Posted 16 September 2008 - 07:02 PM

QUOTE (phinko @ Sep 16 2008, 03:00 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
what are you using for a tach signal? The FC needs either the msd tach adapter or the one offered by FIP. Just hooking up to the stock crap doesnt work.


I noticed the stock tach wasnt working. There is no mention of this adapter in the install guide. I have to have it to run my car?

#9 FuelinjectionPro

FuelinjectionPro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • Interests:CARS!

Posted 16 September 2008 - 10:14 PM

QUOTE (phinko @ Sep 16 2008, 06:13 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
HEY ED!! Long time no talky! Heres an issue Ive been having.
http://www.starquestclub.com/forum/index.p...amp;hl=ignition

Phil I have use a USB to serial converter with the IgnitionPro and not had any problems. But each laptop seems a little different. What com port is your USB set to? Is the IgnitionPro software the current one posted on our site? What windows software is on your laptop?


QUOTE (DSM RSM 89conquest @ Sep 16 2008, 09:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ED! I almost gave up on you! I bought the hurricaine 4 and I cant get it to run. The light on my FC1S is not flashing durring cranking. I turn the car on and it flashes once but thats it. The megasquirt software shows the injectors are not pulsing/cycling. The car fired up the first couple times, the map sensor, tps and tach all seem to work fine. Please help me out, i need to make my car run!

What do you have for the ignition system, stock, msd,IgnitionPro ect? If stock do you have the IAM-1A adapter? if so here is how you test it:
http://www.angelfire.com/mech/edwardcase00...pt_new_test.JPG

QUOTE (BaltTSI @ Sep 16 2008, 11:38 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I would like to know how the pink wire off the Fuel Control box works on the TBPro2r , I hear it can control the fans, where do I setup the switch point in the software to enable it?

The pink wire is controlled by the water temp setting found in SETTINGS> CONSTANTS>FAST IDLE CONTROL. When the temp is below the set temp the pink wire will be at ground level, when above the set temp it will be open. A relay must be used, as the pink wire can only switch a small current. One side of the relay coil(85) would connect to the pink wire the other side of the relay coil(86) would go to a switched 12 volt supply.  I will post a fan connection drawing.

ED
Fuel=Power  http://WWW.FuelinjectionPro.com
Works best under pressure!
New Distributorless Ignition System http://www.angelfire.com/mech/edwardcase00/edsion.html

#10 FuelinjectionPro

FuelinjectionPro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • Interests:CARS!

Posted 16 September 2008 - 10:24 PM

QUOTE (substock @ Sep 16 2008, 12:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
hi Ed,

didn't want to fill your other post with this,

i know you stated that you had stop production of the kits, but will you and Scott be offering kits again?

nice to see you back

Jason right now we are not sure what we will offer in the future. Maybe something a little more DIY.
Ed
Fuel=Power  http://WWW.FuelinjectionPro.com
Works best under pressure!
New Distributorless Ignition System http://www.angelfire.com/mech/edwardcase00/edsion.html

#11 FuelinjectionPro

FuelinjectionPro

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • Interests:CARS!

Posted 16 September 2008 - 10:37 PM

QUOTE (lester @ Sep 16 2008, 09:52 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Ed

I am planning for MPI conversion soon with MS. I am reading up all I can on the msefi as well as all Starion MPI related information. Will you reckon the stock harness or at least some parts of it will work with the MS V3.57 SMD board? I am using a 89 Starion engine with a small 16G on a Pajero. Will I be able to get it to work with stock distributor? I have got the following with me now:

lester this post section is for club members with one of our FuelinjectionPro kits. However I will try to comment in the other post you have in the MPI section.
Ed
Fuel=Power  http://WWW.FuelinjectionPro.com
Works best under pressure!
New Distributorless Ignition System http://www.angelfire.com/mech/edwardcase00/edsion.html

#12 83TechMaster

83TechMaster

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:St. Petersburg, FL
  • Interests:Speed Kills Drive a honda and live forever!
  • Model:Starion

Posted 16 September 2008 - 10:50 PM

Mods can you make this post sticky?
83 Starion, 3in exh, ACT Clutch, light FW, JE's .040, Ported Marnal, TEP Cam, arp bolts, FIP PRO3 Fuel/iginition system,SFP Header,T04B V-Trim, Mallory HyFire, water/alc, turboxs bov,O-Ringed Block, turbonetics evolution w/g, NOS
Posted Image

#13 Funky Phil

Funky Phil

    Super Pooper

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,421 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hell's microwave TX
  • Interests:2 streaks of fire for 60ft when I leave.
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 16 September 2008 - 11:41 PM

QUOTE (FuelinjectionPro @ Sep 16 2008, 10:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Phil I have use a USB to serial converter with the IgnitionPro and not had any problems. But each laptop seems a little different. What com port is your USB set to? Is the IgnitionPro software the current one posted on our site? What windows software is on your laptop?




I have windows XP and I downloaded the Ign Pro about 2 weeks ago. As far as the com port Ign Pro is set to CommPort 3. Its the only one that wouldnt give me another error message.

phil

Edited by phinko, 16 September 2008 - 11:41 PM.

10.95@122mph MoFuggin stickshift! https://m.youtube.co...h?v=8Q01UKt5q4U

Posted Image

#14 Jms

Jms

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami Lakes, FL
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 September 2008 - 01:59 AM

Hi Ed,

Can you list the pinout for the serial connector (DB-37?) on the FC-1?

Rgds,
Jms

Edited by Jms, 17 September 2008 - 02:00 AM.

Posted Image   1988 TSi SHP


#15 substock

substock

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,992 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pa
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 September 2008 - 05:52 AM

QUOTE (FuelinjectionPro @ Sep 16 2008, 11:24 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Jason right now we are not sure what we will offer in the future. Maybe something a little more DIY.
Ed



Thanks Ed,

I was just wondering in regards to the Ed-is-on kit.
'89 Conquest

#16 jahjah

jahjah

    Dazed and Confused

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5,014 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Near Athens, Georgia
  • Interests:Family, friends, Cars
  • Model:Other

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:10 AM

I'm running the magna controller. Is there anyway to get a larger CE table?

Edited by jahjah, 17 September 2008 - 09:44 AM.


#17 Lusion972

Lusion972

    I need a quest

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,824 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sherman, TX - Home of the neighbors with no legs.
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:31 AM

Do you still have any trigger wheel pulleys and vr sensor adapters available?
Dad's the man for all your parts needs Engine Machine Service

#18 BaltTSI

BaltTSI

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,086 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland
  • Interests:Starquests forever!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:20 PM

Thanks Ed!  my fans are already on after market relays, so this should be easy, so then I just need to know what the voltage for a new relay would be for the pink wire, if you say it can only switch a "small amount" I'll buy a new relay for that
Former Conquest owner, 2001 to April 2009


#19 DSM RSM 89conquest

DSM RSM 89conquest

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Location:newhall ca
  • Interests:Formula 1,WRC,rebuilding my p.o.s

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:05 PM

What do you have for the ignition system, stock, msd,IgnitionPro ect? If stock do you have the IAM-1A adapter? if so here is how you test it:
http://www.angelfire.com/mech/edwardcase00...pt_new_test.JPG

I am using the stock ignition with the IAM-A1 adapter. Ill test it and get back to you. Thanks

#20 Jms

Jms

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami Lakes, FL
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:29 PM

QUOTE (BaltTSI @ Sep 18 2008, 07:20 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks Ed!  my fans are already on after market relays, so this should be easy, so then I just need to know what the voltage for a new relay would be for the pink wire, if you say it can only switch a "small amount" I'll buy a new relay for that



The pink wire is switched ground on the FIP unit. When the engine is cold, this wire is on, but when the engine reaches normal temp or above, the ECI will shut it off (therefore switched by the ECI). I use it to control my FIDLE. Do not use it to ground your fans directly or you'll kill the ECI. Use relays to turn the fans on, with the pink wire controlling the "Coils" of the relays. For the fans, I'd go with dual 40A relays, assuming that you're running dual fans. Avoid putting any amount of current through the pink wire.

I sincerely hope that this is what you were asking, but if I misunderstood you, please disregard my post.

Rgds,
Jms

Posted Image   1988 TSi SHP





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users