• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 JoeyLeet2

JoeyLeet2

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 444 posts

Posted 18 May 2019 - 11:23 PM

Finally getting the 88 back in order. Will be upgrading the turbo this summer if she stays strong. But I'm a noob so here's my plan

https://www.ebay.com...4.c100891.m5206

Can i "bolt on upgrade" my turbo with that kit and probably a rebuild kit?

Rebuild my 12a with quality parts using the ebay compressor housing and wheel + the Starion exhaust housing and wheel.

They even sell ones with rebuild kits and/or wastegates.

No machining needed right?

All input welcome.

#2 ucw458

ucw458

This will mean the extinction of all life forms on this planet.

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,611 posts
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 18 May 2019 - 11:28 PM

That might work.  You may have some small issues getting the wastegate actuator to work.  Turbo inlet/outlet may be a different size than stock so stock tubing may not connect to it.  But those are standard issues when upgrading turbos.

The kit you posted though will likely not work.  That kit is for a TD04 hotside.  Stock SQ has a TD05 hotside.  Not 100% sure but the turbine shaft the compressor connects to may be thicker.
My 87
Posted Image

#3 JoeyLeet2

JoeyLeet2

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 444 posts

Posted 19 May 2019 - 12:09 AM

I think you're right. Check this out.

https://www.ebay.com...GUAAOSwXY5ZORqM

Thoughts? Can't be that "easy"

#4 ucw458

ucw458

This will mean the extinction of all life forms on this planet.

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,611 posts

Posted 19 May 2019 - 12:35 AM

You could upgrade just the compressor housing.  But...... you will get more benefit from upgrading the exhaust side too.

A TD05 is a small housing.  A TD05h 16g is a pretty good turbo for mild mods.  Some say a TD06 or TD06sl2 works good on TBI.  Never tried that so idk.  If going MPI then you're in a different ballpark turbo wise.