#1 Mix_67

Mix_67

Wheel Spinner

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 550 posts
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 26 January 2021 - 08:24 PM

So a few years back I picked up a Microsquirt module from a buddy. He never got around to building it. I am hoping to get it set up for a TBI Build in my conquest. The module documentation is a bit patchy so I hope you all can fill in some blanks.

I am a mechanical engineer with a background in field service including lots of schematics and wiring troubleshooting. I have 90% of my pin out tables laid out, but I am stumped when it comes to ignition.

Currently the car has a msd6al with tach adaptor using the stock knock box. From what I gather my best bet is to take out the 6al, add a 7pin gm hei module and lock the dizzy. Is that the right approach?

I auto-x the car hard and want to ensure I have a reliable rev limiter so I am nervous to pull the 6al. How much power would I be leaving on the table to keep the 6al go fuel only and keep the stock dizzy arrangement? How do I eliminate the knock box?

"Speed costs money. How fast do YOU want to go?"-Spoolin' Fools, Venus PA
"I was doing fine until about mid corner, that's pretty much were I ran out of talent and spun the car"
'87 Flatty Intercooled w/ 16gEvo3 @ 18psi, ssq-bov, ARP Head Studs, BSEK, 5-speed swap, 5 lug swap w/ 6bolt LSD, 3:90's, Cosmo Dual Spring Coilovers, MK1Shocks, MK1 Camber Plates, M28 head, Tial 38, SAFC-2, SSI-4,750/1400 Injectors
2010 DSM Shoot-Out DSM MAXeffort Street Tire Winner

#2 MotoCam360

MotoCam360

Motocam360

• Vendors
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,221 posts
  • Interests:SQ, SY/TY, BMW, electronics, motorcycles, snowbikes

Posted 27 January 2021 - 01:24 AM

Talk to Scott87Star about all MS stuff.....he's a genius!

Since you autocross, did you baffle your oil pan?  Diehardmitsu just released some nice weld in baffle pieces for the stock panel.....hit 'em up if you need some
Tim

My Feedback Link
'87 Red 5spd | '88 Yellow auto | '88 Fiji Auto | '89 Fiji auto