Jump to content



Electromotive TEC tips and tricks


  • Please log in to reply
134 replies to this topic

#121 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 22 April 2006 - 03:36 PM

Derrick
I just looked more closely at your O2 calibrations.  I looks like you are using 5 of the 10 settings to read rich.  In a turbo aplication I think it should be the opposite since you don't ever want to be running leaner than 13.5 except decel and idle... right.  It seems like you are wasting setpoints on values you will hopefully never see.  

On a different note.  I assume you take the output voltage of the sensor and multiple it by 5 since the tec is looking for a 0 to 5 volt refference. Dose this sound right?


QUOTE (derrickmd18)
hmm must not have been on here for a while.  well I got Innovate LC-1 working on TEC2.  it reads it perfectly and been tested by me.  I was runinng  it on tec 2 for about a month then uninstalled it to ship to NY to get it fitting for my Megasquirt harness.  I have the information here:  http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/forums/...read.php?t=2823

here is the setting I used:





they worked perfect and I dataloged both to verify.


86' quest





#122 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 10 July 2006 - 08:00 PM

anyone else do any data logging?  I was looking at logs from the track this weekend and noticed my timing at full boost and wide open throttle is set to 21 but I was seeing 19 in the logs.  I'm just wondering why?  Is there addition correction or a parameter set that's adjusting the timing?  I looked but could not find any.

86' quest

#123 artinist

artinist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,308 posts
  • Location:The Earthquake state
  • Interests:Favorite Food:E46 M3
  • Model:Other

Posted 11 July 2006 - 01:12 AM

i think it might be a bug in the reporting. i remember reading something like that in the electromotive forum here but i cant find it at the moment:

http://www.efi101.com/forum/viewforum.php?...15db17180e00dde
-----------------------------------------------------------
88 Starion - 341rwhp@23psi on 91 octane - sold
97 3000GT VR4 - Sold

#124 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 11 July 2006 - 02:50 PM

Actually I found that when intake temp goes above 130 it pulls timing out.  It in the sensor parameters section of the advance tuning options.  Its actually a good idea.  At the track on Sunday idle my intake temps were 46 degrees C and at the top end of the track at 30 psi I saw 50 degrees C.  I'm gonna start looking into meth injection. :twisted:

86' quest

#125 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 July 2006 - 04:49 PM

QUOTE (artinist)
supposedly after further diagnosis. it did turn out to be an intermitent problem with the coil(s). one was almost dead, one was on its last leg. they gave the ECU a clean bill of health.

I just got the unit back. the new coils they put on are larger than the previous ones and seem a lot heavier wink.gif. my TEC II was 12-13 years old so i guess they upgraded them lately.

charged me $70 for two coils and $70 for labor.


I'm having a similar problem, it idles real lean no mater how much fuel I give it.  It gets worse once the car gets warmed up to operating temp.  it drives ok not great on the street but won't idle for crap, pops and stutters and surges.  It idles around 15+:1 a/f no matter home much fuel I give  it.   I talked to Nick and I'll be sending my system in next week to get check out.  I would really like to go racing this weekend.  We have a spare Tec at the shop so tomorrow I plan to swap coils and see if that fixes the problem other wise I have no idea.  

Does this sound like your problem Art?

86' quest

#126 MontyTSI

MontyTSI

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 8,557 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:VirginIA
  • Interests:Spliting Atoms
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 July 2006 - 07:50 PM

sorry to hihack

heefner, do you have a phone number for bill (pm me if you do)

i bought a brand new head he did the work on and installed stainless valves. The kid i bought it from bent all 4 intake valves so i need to find out waht brand and size he put in it.

Monty
A CERTIFIED EXPERT IN SPOTTING THE OBVIOUS :)CTS-V, 1961 MGA MKII, Aprilia rsv1000 factory, ducati 900ss (not stock), 1988 mighty max 4x4 4.22 geared, 1987 TSI, 1987 flatty

#127 artinist

artinist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,308 posts
  • Location:The Earthquake state
  • Interests:Favorite Food:E46 M3
  • Model:Other

Posted 28 July 2006 - 11:39 AM

no mine would totally cut out and barely run once the coil started acting up.
any chance one of the sensors like tps,temp,map could be out of calibration?
-----------------------------------------------------------
88 Starion - 341rwhp@23psi on 91 octane - sold
97 3000GT VR4 - Sold

#128 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 29 July 2006 - 06:56 AM

I check all the sensors on the engine monitor screen and they all read what I would expect.  It starts, runs for 10 seconds smooth then goes way lean and pops and misses.  I swaped the entire Tec unit coils and all and it had no effect.  I'm grasping at straws now.  I plan to drain the tank and put in some fresh fuel.  I may pull the intake to verify that its not sucking in coolant at idle.

86' quest

#129 artinist

artinist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,308 posts
  • Location:The Earthquake state
  • Interests:Favorite Food:E46 M3
  • Model:Other

Posted 29 July 2006 - 10:11 AM

also check for a low battery voltage or a fuel system clog
-----------------------------------------------------------
88 Starion - 341rwhp@23psi on 91 octane - sold
97 3000GT VR4 - Sold

#130 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 29 July 2006 - 11:56 AM

Batery is 15+ volts I'm about to tear into fuel system.  My gauge is reading on the return line 50 psi at idle and it goes up 1:1 with boost.  Now I'm thinking maybe some bad fuel?

86' quest

#131 artinist

artinist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,308 posts
  • Location:The Earthquake state
  • Interests:Favorite Food:E46 M3
  • Model:Other

Posted 31 July 2006 - 12:45 PM

why do you have FP set so high? with the vaccum off, it will be even higher.

you should try setting it around 37 psi with the vaccum disconnected
-----------------------------------------------------------
88 Starion - 341rwhp@23psi on 91 octane - sold
97 3000GT VR4 - Sold

#132 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 31 July 2006 - 03:47 PM

Its always been that way, I've never messed with it and have never had any issues with it.   :?   I changed my intake gasket to the flepro, cleaned some gunk out of the fuel filter and it still pops and and idles way lean.  Compression test yeilds +/- 4% across the board.  Plugs look good it runs ok out on the street anywhere above 15 inHg, it just idles like poop.  I'm going to do a leak down test on it wed.

86' quest

#133 cudabnu

cudabnu

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 825 posts
  • Location:Moorpark, CA
  • Interests:BUTT-OMETER pegged on SCHWING!

Posted 01 August 2006 - 06:22 PM

Have you tried the Ol' spray some WD40 or carb cleaner on fittings and the intake flange to see if you getting any air leaks? If everything is reading where it is supposed to, then it sounds to me like extra air is getting in after the TB. You could also pressure test your system, and see if you hear any air leaks.
RACE it don't RICE it!

#134 heefner

heefner

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baltimore, MD  USA
  • Interests:Back off!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 01 August 2006 - 07:17 PM

yes I tried that a few times.  I tried a lot of things.
I'll moved the topic over to this thread.
http://www.starquestclub.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=47072

Thanks for the ideas.

86' quest

#135 starquestJOE

starquestJOE

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:duryea pa
  • Interests:buy one buy EM ALL!!!!!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 25 August 2011 - 10:29 PM

i'm bringing it back

were are all the tec2 guys? i'm still tryin to get my car to start

IM STARQUEST 4 LIFE ....
88 tsi-80k one owner bone stock R88 unicorn
87 tsi - red - sometimes mine sometimes ryans
89 tsi-46k-red but not for long!!!
88 esi-r-white-SOLD
88 tsi white 61k-SOLD
89 tsi-black-rip
87 tsi-black/red-SOLD
88 tsi yellow sold
89 tsi white parts car
88 esi-r-black-RIP
87 tsi-somewhere in MD....need to pick it up
                    88and 89parts car...need parts???
          lookin for  RHD starion and part to convert to RHD
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users