Jump to content



'86 year Starion won't hold idle


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 stesir

stesir

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA
  • Interests:I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 14 August 2018 - 10:51 AM

hey there:
I got an '86.. nearly everything about the car is new or rebuilt,  has the correct 1986 year components...
the motor is only able to start and run if you keep on pumping the gas pedal, in other words cannot get it to IDLE..
any help is much appreciated...THANKS!





#2 tux

tux

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:new jersey
  • Model:Starion

Posted 14 August 2018 - 11:03 AM

cross post

#3 Spooled_Starion

Spooled_Starion

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Medford Oregon
  • Model:Starion

Posted 14 August 2018 - 01:03 PM

Does it have the map and maf both working? Some 86 run better without maf. But map has to be used.
Hks Downpipe, hks exhaust, hks intake, hks camshaft, hks pfc-fcon, hks fcd, hks turbo timer, trilogy injectors, mk1 short shifter, GReddy traditional shift knob, 89 ecu, Hks Boost gauge, innovative wideband A/F gauge.

#4 markhansenconquest

markhansenconquest

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:temecula,ca
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 14 August 2018 - 03:49 PM

When u turn the key to on .Can  U here  the nose idle say  ZIPPPP ?? Have u done the TPS reset ??

Edited by markhansenconquest, 14 August 2018 - 05:23 PM.


#5 tux

tux

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,228 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:new jersey
  • Model:Starion

Posted 14 August 2018 - 08:46 PM

View PostSpooled_Starion, on 14 August 2018 - 01:03 PM, said:

Does it have the map and maf both working? Some 86 run better without maf. But map has to be used.

In my minutes experience, only works better if the MAF is faulty

#6 stesir

stesir

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA
  • Interests:I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 15 August 2018 - 10:20 AM

I thought the MAF and MAP was the same thing?  IT def has an '86 airbox on it and all from MARK...I don't think I hear anything when the key is turned on to Electric position right before starting..it has the upgraded Canadien guy new TPS that he sells but I have no clue about that and my mech guy always says don't worry about that or we did it when I try and ask about resetting the TPS..

#7 Spooled_Starion

Spooled_Starion

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Medford Oregon
  • Model:Starion

Posted 15 August 2018 - 01:56 PM

View Poststesir, on 15 August 2018 - 10:20 AM, said:

I thought the MAF and MAP was the same thing?  IT def has an '86 airbox on it and all from MARK...I don't think I hear anything when the key is turned on to Electric position right before starting..it has the upgraded Canadien guy new TPS that he sells but I have no clue about that and my mech guy always says don't worry about that or we did it when I try and ask about resetting the TPS..

You should have a MAP sensor (manifold absolute pressure) on your firewall with a vacuum line attached to it. That has to be there. Do you hear your fuel pump turn on? Did you just I stall the tps or did you do it properly and set the position using a volt meter?
Hks Downpipe, hks exhaust, hks intake, hks camshaft, hks pfc-fcon, hks fcd, hks turbo timer, trilogy injectors, mk1 short shifter, GReddy traditional shift knob, 89 ecu, Hks Boost gauge, innovative wideband A/F gauge.

#8 markhansenconquest

markhansenconquest

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:temecula,ca
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 16 August 2018 - 08:48 PM

if u don't here the nose switch go ZIPPP ...Check the wires that go to the elec motor , sometimes the wires are broken inside the rubber boot .........

#9 stesir

stesir

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA
  • Interests:I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 August 2018 - 06:09 PM

Guys how do you post pics or someone here please give me your email where you can post the pics please? Thanks

#10 croquest87

croquest87

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,210 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:willoughby
  • Interests:all things mechanical
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 17 August 2018 - 07:40 PM

Download  Imgur you can upload pics to here  or link to here l use it all the time and it works good.

#11 stesir

stesir

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA
  • Interests:I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 11 October 2018 - 06:37 PM

Please see updates in virtual mechanic board,  I’ll post in there from now on...1 thing I wish I could go to a large star quest meet with this car because I know with you guys it be running no problems.   Thanks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users