Accounting....

CaliConquestAlex

I am a public accountant with one of the "Big 4" accounting firms and I was hired out of school at $51.5k. I majored in accounting, but any business major will have some general accounting knowledge. For those of you that have lost their jobs and are looking to get into something new that is recession proof, consider going to night classes and studying accounting. It's been good to me and the field has very strong demand and a exponential pay increase as the years progress. For example, My brother worked in the same field as I do for 3 years and now he's making $100k/yr. as a fund accountant at a hedge fund and he's only 24 years old. There's a lot of jobs in the accounting field right now and this post is just to inform those folks that are maybe looking for a fresh start. Thanks for reading my post. If you have any questions go ahead and post.

Alex. I only have my AS in Business Administration right now...I won't be done with my BS until next year. I always though accountants didn't make much money. I guess I could be wrong. Any Idea on places I could look? All the banks and such all seem to be on hiring freezes....I'm not sure where to look? Thanks

Braden

I didn't say that the work is fun and enjoyable, but it does pay the bills and if you work in public accounting there is a lot of upward mobility and many opportunities to leave for something else accounting related. If you are looking to get into the public accounting sector, which is mostly auditing, there are always smaller "regional" accounting firms hiring. The work can be tedious and the hours can be long, but there is a huge need right now following increased regulation by the AICPA and FASB.

Braden, The best advice I can give you is to use the resources at your school. Usually there are career fairs and accounting firms like to use those venues to recruit people who are personable and conduct themselves in a professional manner.