Jump to content



MX6 intake,g54b w/megasquirt


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#61 ESIrType?

ESIrType?

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,065 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, Nc
  • Interests:Cheese, sloth fighting and bigfoot!
  • Model:Other

Posted 27 May 2012 - 11:49 AM

View Post89BananaQuest, on 01 February 2012 - 02:22 PM, said:

Any chance we could get some pictures?  Does the adapter have to be aluminum?

Here are some pics from when I did this back in 2005. I used a 92 mx6 intake.You don't have to use aluminum, but it would be the best option. Steel would be a paid to work, unless you just drill it out with a hole saw.
I made mine out of t6 6061 3/4" aluminum. Number 1 and 4 runners are 1/4"off like stated before. The 3/4" adapter gave me a nice smooth transition from the intake to the head without to sharp of an angle. Just cutting a large hole to transition from oval ports of the intake to the round port of the head I think will not allow for a smooth airflow. I actually opened up the intake ports a bit and made them more round. I port matched the intake to the plate and the head to the plate then matched the gaskets also.
Honestly, if I were to do it again I would just build an intake. Costs would have been about the same, but I would have had less time into it. It was all in all fun when I did it and I wanted to do something different.
Here's my post from back in the day.
http://www.starquest...pic=25999&st=20
The pic's are dead because that hosting was dropped.
Here's my photobucket link.
http://s1128.photobu...irtype/Starion/
Here are a few pics also.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image



Shawn
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image





#62 stariondreams

stariondreams

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts

Posted 27 May 2012 - 03:44 PM

Only thing I did different  on mine  which mine was a copy of shawns is my coolant pipe is part of the sandwich plate welded to it still no t-stat .. I then drilled A whole strait down .for the heater core on the rear.Tap & add nipple hook up stock coolant line.

#63 ESIrType?

ESIrType?

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,065 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, Nc
  • Interests:Cheese, sloth fighting and bigfoot!
  • Model:Other

Posted 29 May 2012 - 08:50 PM

View Poststariondreams, on 27 May 2012 - 03:44 PM, said:

Only thing I did different  on mine  which mine was a copy of shawns is my coolant pipe is part of the sandwich plate welded to it still no t-stat .. I then drilled A whole strait down .for the heater core on the rear.Tap & add nipple hook up stock coolant line.

I forgot about that. You can see where I had the coolant running though the intake. I didn't want to do that, but didn't want to spend more time finding a solution. In the end the solution was easy and I did what you did. I blocked off the coolant hole to the intake and drilled a 1/2 hole through the plate to the coolant passage and tapped it. I then threaded a piece of 1/2 aluminum pipe and siliconed it in. Now my coolant isn't running through the intake so the intake charge will be cooler.
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#64 stariondreams

stariondreams

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts

Posted 08 June 2012 - 10:02 PM

I have bad grammer with typing was hoping you understood

#65 Marker1989

Marker1989

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Houston
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:46 AM

ESI, what throttle body is that on your intake?  I just picked one of these up but I plan on doing this differently, I intend on welding the TBI intake flange onto the runners of the Mazda manifold.  I'll post some pictures of the progress.
Gearing up to do battle with the ground..
Posted Image

#66 ESIrType?

ESIrType?

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,065 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, Nc
  • Interests:Cheese, sloth fighting and bigfoot!
  • Model:Other

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:06 AM

View PostMarker1989, on 12 February 2013 - 02:46 AM, said:

ESI, what throttle body is that on your intake?  I just picked one of these up but I plan on doing this differently, I intend on welding the TBI intake flange onto the runners of the Mazda manifold.  I'll post some pictures of the progress.

It's a Ford 65mm TB, I believe it was off a SHO.
There was someone who did a MX6 intake swap before me, be he did it the way you are going to do it. He cut the flange and welded it on like you plan to do.

Shawn
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#67 stariondreams

stariondreams

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:30 PM

Was hoping someone from the board bought mine from Ebay the plate is rough but true a little rework and someone is going to be very happy.To tell you the truth my Starion ran better with the Mx6 intake with dual butter fly's than my current Magna with a 4.6 TB felt smoother .I have no dyno sheets to back it up but i got the butt dyno!!! Lol and she felt smoother and more top end.

#68 ESIrType?

ESIrType?

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,065 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, Nc
  • Interests:Cheese, sloth fighting and bigfoot!
  • Model:Other

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:11 AM

View Poststariondreams, on 13 February 2013 - 07:30 PM, said:

To tell you the truth my Starion ran better with the Mx6 intake with dual butter fly's than my current Magna with a 4.6 TB felt smoother.

My theory it the runner length. With my 1" thick plate, plus the runners it has about a 15" long runner on it. Also a lower volume plenum. The air is running at higher velocity.  I am running a single 65mm TB. I think you are noticing more low end torque.
I didn't receive he dual TB with mine. I am actaully glad I didn't. I prefer the single plate instead. I did have to hog the inside out a little to accept the 65mm tb. Otherwise, there would have been interference with the TB plate. I will probable hog it out a little more in the future. I may go the route of making a bigger plenum. I forget the size of the MX6, but I think it's a bit small for high boosted applications.

Shawn
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#69 383chevelle

383chevelle

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lubbock Tx
  • Model:Other

Posted 19 February 2013 - 05:56 PM

I bought one of these from someone on ebay last year sometime. It was listed as an intake for a starquest. It has the factory tb flange on it still. Does that sound like the one you sold on there stariondreams? I am trying to put the money together to get the ecu sorted can't wait to but this on.

ESIrtype was the 65mm tb bolted straight to the factory tb flange?

#70 ESIrType?

ESIrType?

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,065 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, Nc
  • Interests:Cheese, sloth fighting and bigfoot!
  • Model:Other

Posted 21 February 2013 - 10:14 AM

View Post383chevelle, on 19 February 2013 - 05:56 PM, said:

ESIrtype was the 65mm tb bolted straight to the factory tb flange?

No, it doesn't, but it's a simple mod. I just hogged out the inside lining if the intake TB flange. This was to keep the 65mm plate from hitting the sides. I then made a plate out of 1/8" steel. The reason for this is that the intake opening for the TB is longer than the 65mm TB. Sonce I had the plate on the TB, I made the opening for the 65mm TB. After this it was as simple as using the factory top bolts on the intake to install the TB, and then drill 2 more on the bottom.

Shawn
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

#71 stariondreams

stariondreams

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 421 posts

Posted 01 April 2013 - 09:52 PM

View Post383chevelle, on 19 February 2013 - 05:56 PM, said:

I bought one of these from someone on ebay last year sometime. It was listed as an intake for a starquest. It has the factory tb flange on it still. Does that sound like the one you sold on there stariondreams? I am trying to put the money together to get the ecu sorted can't wait to but this on.

ESIrtype was the 65mm tb bolted straight to the factory tb flange?

No i sold mine to a guy in rockville,md about a month ago




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users