Jump to content



3 wire O2 installation


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 sfR87quest

sfR87quest

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 358 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area
  • Model:Other

Posted 03 November 2003 - 06:42 PM

Hi guys...I just wanted to know how you hooked up your 3 wire O2's...I just want to know the easiest way to install this...any feedback would be helpful.





#2 Boosted_One

Boosted_One

    Addicted Starquester

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,981 posts
  • Location:Midwest USA
  • Interests:It's all about BOOST!
  • Model:Other

Posted 03 November 2003 - 06:48 PM

3 wire O2:

2 white wires
1 black wire

1 white to 12V positive
1 white to negative ground
black to gauge unit/ECU
Mike K

#3 gunpackingpoet

gunpackingpoet

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Location:Brownsville, Texas
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!

Posted 22 November 2003 - 11:09 AM

What's the part number to that 3 wire 02 sensor?  
Vic

-86 Plymouth Conquest
-00 Dodge Caravan Le

#4 stariongirl

stariongirl

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:bend oregon
  • Interests:race prepped by skank and gutterboy
  • Model:Other

Posted 26 November 2003 - 12:29 AM

QUOTE
What's the part number to that 3 wire 02 sensor?  


bosch 13913.
s/g

#5 gunpackingpoet

gunpackingpoet

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Location:Brownsville, Texas
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!

Posted 26 November 2003 - 02:11 AM

SG, is there any difference between that one and the bosch 12031?  I just got back from autozone and they said it would take a universal O2 sensor (12031).  
Vic

-86 Plymouth Conquest
-00 Dodge Caravan Le

#6 JAinsworth

JAinsworth

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lizella Georgia
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 26 November 2003 - 07:20 AM

GPpoet,
I run the same one as stariongirl with no issues.
Jimmy

#7 gunpackingpoet

gunpackingpoet

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 351 posts
  • Location:Brownsville, Texas
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!

Posted 26 November 2003 - 04:43 PM

13913 it is.  That 12031 I mentioned is a one wire.  Thanks!
Vic

-86 Plymouth Conquest
-00 Dodge Caravan Le

#8 lionbull

lionbull

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,274 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brooklyn, New York
  • Interests:DUH
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 August 2004 - 06:34 AM

O.K so this means that if you have a car with an AF guage we have to run the black wire to the gauge only or we splice it in half and run one to the gauge and then one to the ECU?                                                        
QUOTE
3 wire O2:

2 white wires
1 black wire

1 white to 12V positive
1 white to negative ground
black to gauge unit/ECU

 vettekiller593, on 09 September 2011 - 10:20 AM, said:

Lol you guys must be blind. He would of won if the supra didn't give him a 1/8 mile start. Lol you guys kill me.

 lionbull, on 07 September 2011 - 02:26 PM, said:

ALSO this is not a HP race. It is a race. You dyno queen guys need to remember this. I am not speaking to anyone in particular but you know who you are!

#9 starquestPilot

starquestPilot

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta (Atlanta), GA
  • Interests:General Aviation, RC Helicopers, Square Dancing
  • Model:Starion

Posted 27 August 2004 - 12:18 PM

Most of us use the existing O2 wire (from the OEM sensor) to connect the new sensor.  Then run a wire from the A/F gauge over to the ECU and splice into the signal from the O2 sensor there...

Mike
'84 Conquest (black w/gold/tan)
'85.5 Starion (grey/black)
'85.5 Starion (white/black)
'87 Starion LE auto (white/red)

#10 simsima

simsima

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Location:lindenwold nj
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!

Posted 11 September 2004 - 10:57 AM

hey guys can someone tell me what is the advantage of using a 3 wire 02 sensor other than it warms up quicker.

#11 artinist

artinist

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 7,308 posts
  • Location:The Earthquake state
  • Interests:Favorite Food:E46 M3
  • Model:Other

Posted 13 September 2004 - 04:31 PM

you just said it.
if you want more accurate readings, go with a 4 wire sensor.
-----------------------------------------------------------
88 Starion - 341rwhp@23psi on 91 octane - sold
97 3000GT VR4 - Sold

#12 simsima

simsima

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 89 posts
  • Location:lindenwold nj
  • Interests:Keep the turbo spooled!

Posted 13 September 2004 - 06:54 PM

ok  let me rephase that; whats the advantage of warming up quicker will it run better .

#13 Ryan_V

Ryan_V

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,911 posts
  • Location:Elgin, Texas
  • Interests:Art, Music, Starquests

Posted 13 November 2004 - 12:11 PM

from Kelly-

if it warms up quicker and adjusts the start up fuel mixture you won't ruin the cats as fast

So if you don't have cats like me...oh well


So what's up with the four wire ???

#14 Syth

Syth

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Interests:Conquest...the only way to fly!

Posted 11 March 2005 - 11:25 PM

I have a question the WHITE wire that goes to 12v positive, can that be connected directly to battery?  Or does the 12v need to be switched, and if it needs to be switched, where is a good tie in for it?  I am adding a 3 wire on Saturday and just want to get it right the first time, Thanks guys and gals for all the info you all have been a lifesaver a time or two!

#15 starquestPilot

starquestPilot

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 815 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Marietta (Atlanta), GA
  • Interests:General Aviation, RC Helicopers, Square Dancing
  • Model:Starion

Posted 12 March 2005 - 06:44 AM

QUOTE
...can that be connected directly to battery?  Or does the 12v need to be switched, and if it needs to be switched...

Most of us use switched power - it's available at the wiper motor electrical connection...

Mike
'84 Conquest (black w/gold/tan)
'85.5 Starion (grey/black)
'85.5 Starion (white/black)
'87 Starion LE auto (white/red)

#16 Jozel

Jozel

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY
  • Interests:I'll just follow you!

Posted 27 March 2005 - 02:17 AM

QUOTE
Most of us use switched power - it's available at the wiper motor electrical connection...

Mike


Would you be able to pinpoint what color code wire it is from the wiper motor ? My car is not running right now and it would be impossible to get a reading coz my battery is shot.

Thanks,
Joe

#17 BuGG

BuGG

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,937 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Interests:Starquests forever!
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 March 2005 - 03:47 AM

Use a volt meter.  Very easy to figure out.


BuGG
Posted Image

#18 Sarc

Sarc

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salem, Oregon
  • Interests:I am newb!
  • Model:Other

Posted 10 April 2005 - 05:35 PM

Could someone please elaborate on the advantages and differences between a 3 wire and a 4 wire?

4 wire wouldn't be wide band would it?

Thanks.
It was a good run...
May your travels with your new owner be epic.

#19 mikec

mikec

    not around much any more

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cypress California
  • Interests:Finish line at the Pikes Peak "Race to the Clouds"
  • Model:Starion

Posted 10 April 2005 - 08:20 PM

Heated O2 sensors (3 and 4 wire types) start working more quickly and they're more consistent in their readings... O2 sensor output voltage, for a given air/fuel ratio, is also affected by exhaust temp.  With a heated sensor this temp sensitivity is reduced.

The extra wire in 4-wire O2 sensors is a sensor ground.  Rather than using the sensor body for ground - and thus having to go through the exhaust manifold, engine block, etc. to get to the true chassis ground and then to the ECU, 4-wire sensors have a dedicated wire for the ground... just run this straight to the ECU along with the regular signal wire.  Now the O2 signal is independent of any poor/noisy engine grounds.  The ECU has a more reliable signal to work with.

4-wire O2 sensors need not be wideband; in fact most are not wideband.  Wideband sensors have several wires because they have several bits inside them that must be read/controlled properly to get a true reading... thus the expensive electronic controllers for wideband controllers.

mike c.

#20 JAinsworth

JAinsworth

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,873 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lizella Georgia
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 03 February 2006 - 10:10 PM

QUOTE (IMINHELL)
I found that most cars that come with a 3 wire HO2S have a resistor across the positive and negative for the heating element (to redirect unused power after sensor is up to proper heat). There is no mention of this in the post and the sensor life might be reduced with a constant 12 volt signal to it (especially when it is not needed).

Here is a link on how to wire it correctly:
http://www.plxdevices.com/AppNotes/PLXApp004.pdf





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users