Jump to content



How to tighten throttle cable more than allowed?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Preludedude

Preludedude

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Upstate, SC
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 September 2018 - 01:26 PM

I need to open my TB up a little bit so the car will idle by itself...Its seems to be starving of air, and I have keep the throttle around 3%-5% to keep it idling smooth....

I need to open the throttle by tightening the cable a little more, but I am at the end of the threaded portion...

What are my options to get this slack out and open the TB a little?

Posted Image





#2 speedyquest

speedyquest

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,963 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:La Crosse Wisconsin
  • Interests:bmx, cars, computers
  • Model:Starion

Posted 27 September 2018 - 02:10 PM

The cleanest solution would be a custom throttle cable. That wouldn't be expensive or overly difficult to track down and much better than cobbling something together.

1987 Flatty Starion -- Widebody Conversion -- V-Mount Setup --  JDL Tubular Manifold  --  MX-6 Intake -- MS3-Pro -- AEM FPR  --  ARP head studs -- 3" hood exit exhaust -- Hahn Racecraft 16g --  Tial F38 Wastegate -- Tial Q Bov -- Short route piping -- 5 lug & LSD conversion -- Tubular Front End -- Manual Steering Rack Conversion -- Manual Brake Conversion -- Stack Digital Dash -- AEM UEGO -- D2 coilovers -- full GNT poly bushings & mounts -- four 8" rears -- car lightened significantly...  More to come!


Posted Image


Build Thread --->  http://www.starquest...opic=143564&hl=


#3 techboy

techboy

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, PA
  • Interests:80's & 90's turbo charged cars.
  • Model:Starion

Posted 27 September 2018 - 04:22 PM

I'm not sure how much more your talking, but if it's only fractions of an inch I would try taking the outside nut off and grinding it down by a 1/4 or maybe even 1/2 (if you can).  That would allow you to tighten the inside nut a thread or two and maybe get you what you need (???)

If it's more than that, then you might have to go with speedyquest ^^^
1988 Starion ESi-R ... crushed by a tree 10/31/11 - back from the dead 8/2016
1988 Conquest TSi ... current driver - sold to Bigjoe 6/2016
1987 Conquest Flatty ... F/S thread - sold 8/2014
1987 Conquest TSi ... parts car - sold to Coldscrip 12/2011
1999 Eclipse 4G63 ... heavily modified.
Feeback Thread | Motor rebuild thread | Restoration thread

Posted Image

#4 croquest87

croquest87

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,160 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:willoughby
  • Interests:all things mechanical
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 September 2018 - 05:05 PM

Bosch 3 wire idle control valve and you can keep it closed + your megasquirt will control the valve for  warm up pretty much like stock. I am using one on my mpi car it works perfect and when at full temperature idle is at 850 rpms sharp and afr 12.5-13.
It only cost me like maybe $40.00  for the valve from 90s BMW and  $2.00 for 50w 40 ohm resistor.l ran without it for a while it worked fine but l like this set up much better now.
Just another option to keep in mind.

Edited by croquest87, 27 September 2018 - 07:28 PM.


#5 Chad

Chad

    noob

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 9,182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lincoln City Oregon
  • Interests:Starquest Fanatic
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 September 2018 - 07:17 PM

There should be a set screw on the throttle body that sets the idle plate position, like a 8 mm hex head.  If you screw it in a little more than factory spec, it prevents the TB from fully closing.   This will have factory thread locker on it, but it should still be adjustable.

Some people have gotten away with drilling a small hole in the throttle plate, like 1/8".  This is a permanent throttle plate leak, just enough to help idle flow.  The screw is a better way to adjust, but you get the gist.

#6 Preludedude

Preludedude

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Upstate, SC
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 27 September 2018 - 08:11 PM

Ok I never noticed but I will definitely look at that.

I googled some images and yes there is a long hex screw that the throttle plate sits against

I will take a look at mine tomorrow

#7 kev

kev

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPip
  • 4,919 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PA
  • Model:Other

Posted 18 October 2018 - 11:20 AM

Yes, don't adjust the cable.  You set the idle by adjusting the set screw going to the butterfly throttle plate.  

I have a different ford TB but I had the same issue as you on initial startup.  I had to adjust the setscrew to control the idle rpm.  Actually had to adjust it several times as I tuned in the engine management system.  

For the cable, keep a little bit of slack in it at idle.  

kev

#8 Preludedude

Preludedude

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,698 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Upstate, SC
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 18 October 2018 - 11:51 AM

Yes, I was able to adjust the screw and it allowed the car to idle without giving it gas....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users