Jump to content



Where do I get a dual gauge pod?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#21 mstieg

mstieg

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fort Myers, FL
  • Model:Starion

Posted 30 May 2003 - 01:52 PM

The one's listed under a Mits. Starion should fit without melting and require a screw in method.  The "universal" ones need to be cut with scissors and melted with a hairdryer? <-- as it said on one of the listings above.  If it will melt by a hairdryer I wouldn't want that in my car during the summer!  All locked up it gets hot enough in there to fry eggs on the dash.

Please let me know about my alternatetive pod mounting....if it exists.
Thanks,

-Matt
Before: 352 rwhp @15psi; MPI: SDS EM5F; Chad intake & equal length header; S256 turbo (56/80comp-64/74ex); 48" of 2.5" IC piping
Now Done:  7.5:1 .35 Wiseco rebuild w/ crank scraper; 274 Magna roller cam & 1.55 rockers; mod port AMC head; 1mm>valves; Innovate WB; GM alt/rewired; 3" 240 alum radiator, elec fans; BMW X5 oil separator exh. crankcase vent; gas tank renewed; D2s; sway/strut bars; LT1 T56 clutch & trans swap w/ Fidanza; 4.22 rear; 265 Kumos on SHP rears; new steering pump/box/lines & coupler fix: http://www.starquest...howtopic=139558; full dash/console rewire - Autometer, push start, etc.
In Progress: breakin & tune
Future: Enjoy driving again; meets & local shows; AC; WG reroute from open vent to exh; Water/Meth?; body/paint

FOR SALE:  Rear Camber plates (basic); NIB beefy U-joints(2); etc.see-->  http://www.starquest...howtopic=133262 Custom 5 gauge overlay panel: http://www.starquest...pic=136703&st=0





#22 indy_85stariones

indy_85stariones

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,639 posts
  • Location:IN, Indianapolis
  • Interests:Keep her running just one more day!
  • Model:Starion

Posted 30 May 2003 - 11:47 PM

Interesting Westach gauges.... Two gauges in one face
http://www.frostalarm.com/cat/p12.html
Boost on the left and A/F on the right
Air Temp, Before I/C on the left, After I/C on the right

http://www.frostalarm.com/cat/p10.html
A/F on the left, EGT on the right




#23 SHhhhh

SHhhhh

    Established Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orlando, FL
  • Model:Other

Posted 13 November 2003 - 06:37 AM

QUOTE
i ordered the low tec pod and has anyone else had trouble getting it to fit? is there a trick to it?thanks for the space.



Has anyone else had problems like this with the LoTec gauge pod?
Currently Starquestless

http://www.youtube.com/user/intheboost

#24 sfR87quest

sfR87quest

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 358 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area
  • Model:Other

Posted 18 November 2003 - 10:58 AM

i have the same problem...the bottom of the pod doesnt fit, its too wide apart ....should i heat it up n mold it to the pillar?

#25 diviniti

diviniti

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Michigan/AnnArbor
  • Model:Other

Posted 29 April 2005 - 01:22 AM

Figured I would throw this in the FAQ incase anyone wanted to do it.

I had a Auto meter dual gauge pod laying around from an old 1G DSM of mine.
Put it upto the A-pillar, and bam! it fit.

The only thing that needs to be done with it, is the top corner needs to be trimmed for the seat belt.

So, if you have one laying around, or can get one cheap, it will work.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users