10 replies to this topic

#1 fang988

fang988

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Model:Starion

Posted 30 August 2016 - 11:54 AM

Im still a noob. Sorry, it wont let me post in the noob section.
So i am about to purchase an 89 ECU, but i sudden'y remembered swapping this ECU will not be as easy as an 87. So i took the the forums ans found this post. http://www.starquest...howtopic=28050.
They talked about doing this swap but never answered some important questions. Will i need to get the 88-89 injectors? what kind of performance gains will this net? Is it worth it?  Can someone also explain what exactly was written down for the diagrams that were listed, they look like hieroglyphics on my device.

#2 speedyquest

speedyquest

Established Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,737 posts
  • Interests:bmx, cars, computers

Posted 30 August 2016 - 12:03 PM

I'm by no means an expert but here are my thoughts.

You will definitely need 87 or higher injectors if you switch to the 88-89 ecu. The reason for this is that 86 and earlier used two injectors that are the same size and they take turns firing. Later models use a small and large injector that turn on and off based on load and rpm.

As for what kind of performance gain you can expect, right off the bat not much. What swapping the ecu will do for you is give you better fuel maps. So if you will only be changing your wiring and ecu no you won't get a sudden improvement.

Lastly you need to understand that swapping from the 86 and earlier fuel setup and the newer 87+ setup isn't a simple matter of just swapping your ecu. The wiring harnesses differ, you will need wire in different sensors and modify your cars harness. Unless your comfortable with wiring and have a fair knowledge of the wiring diagrams of the car you will have quite the road ahead of you to finish this properly.

Whatever you decide good luck!