12 replies to this topic

#1 Rapom

Rapom

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 09 June 2019 - 09:41 PM

Im a mechanic for Honda.

With that said.. ive never messed with this hub bearing style brake setup with disc.. ive done plenty of re-packing bearings.. had a 65 mustang with drum..

Anyway ive ordered all around pads and rotors (went with titanium drilled rotors)

As of now the brakes suck.. as in car requires alot of pedal to slow down. And i feel like only right front is really doing anything.. rotors are original (116k)

Im assuming i may have to replace some lines and calipers.. hope not but it really doesnt stop well.

My reason for the thread... any tips? Will i expose any bearings and need to replace or repack them?

Side note: this is an 89 TSI SHP 5spd im going to be picking up 4 (full set) of of used SHP struts Wednesday seller claims they are in good shape... someone replaced my rears with bs struts and lowering springs and they torched the front shp springs... last owners were idiots. So should i wait to do brakes/struts/bearings at same time? Id rather piece it together as im driving it daily.. not because its my daily driver... because its fkin awesome and i cant believe i own one!

Thanks any tips/advice appreciated!

#2 markhansenconquest

markhansenconquest

Established Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,385 posts
  • Model:Conquest

Posted 09 June 2019 - 10:04 PM

If car sat for a long time u should check to see if the brakes are sticking..............Pull the boots back and check piston to see if there smooth and move freely..................

Edited by markhansenconquest, 09 June 2019 - 10:09 PM.

#3 mikec

mikec

not around much any more

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 6,322 posts
  • Interests:Finish line at the Pikes Peak "Race to the Clouds"
  • Model:Starion

Posted 10 June 2019 - 04:42 AM