• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Blackmount

Blackmount

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 02 November 2016 - 11:18 PM

I am a Mitsubishi Collector and Builder in training so I have a few cars...

Here is one I recently acquired.

Little bit of back story: The car was originally build by a guy named Don, widely known in the 3000GT world as "GTWizard" It currently holds the 3.0L NA Power record world wide, while its not much, it made a solid 240whp on a mustang dyno with room to spare - Currently it's probably closer to 260whp. Its builder and owner sadly passed away earlier this year in march, His son put the car up forsale finally in august, and as a huge NA Power Engine fanatic for really anything - I jumped on it. I had been itching to build a NA 6G72, as they are accidentally great NA motors. and one of my previous 3000GT's still holds the Stock Cam and or Stock Header record...if you can really call it a record....  I put a deposit on the car almost instantly, and bought a plane ticket to Texas, picked the car up, and drive it 18 hours home to Wisconsin.

The car is very light weight (for a 3000GT) coming in at 2896lbs (3080 with me in it, sitting on the scale. At 240whp, and just barely under 2900lbs, that means it makes more power and weighs less then a fully loaded NSX. It still has Power windows, Locks. Heated Mirrors, etc.

There is still alot of weight to be shaved off the car, as the sheet metal, body, glass, etc is all 100% factory. I'm hoping to get the car down to 2600lbs comfortably.

Specs

Engine:
2972cc, 6 Cyl, 4 Cam
10:1 Compression
Factory bottom end
Ridiculously ported Cylinder heads
Mild Cams (believe they are 280s) Big Choppy aggressive Idle
Titanium Valve Spring Retainers
High Rev Valve Springs
Oversized valves
Fidanza Adjustable Cam Gears (Have brand new BC Cam gears in box that they will be replaced with shortly)
Custom upper intake plenum with 4" Throttle Body
Custom 4" Intake